Bill Granger’s Feed Me Now

feed-me-nowAnd this week’s pleasant surprise goes to Amazon sending me Bill Granger’s Feed Me Now about a month earlier than I had expected it. I’m a big fan of Bill Granger and anything that promises to feed you relatively quickly, as is the premise of Feed Me Now, is alright by me.

Feed Me Now feels a little different from Granger’s earlier books, it’s still the same quite bulky hardback that his previous two books were but he’s changed his photographer who had been working in partnership with for years and so this book does now feels different. There’s also less of an Australian feel to it as well, which I miss, as even though I can’t afford the airfare to Australia or persuade my husband to emigrate, reading one of Granger’s earlier books can at least let me imagine I’m sitting by the sea eating some mango. I also think I’m suffering from a spot of favourite chef jade-itis because it seems to me that Granger may be joining the ranks of food writers where I prefer their earlier work, maybe they use up all their really good recipes first?  And maybe I need to go and find some new food writers to follow.

Anyway, all this whinging makes me sound that I hate this book but I don’t, Bill Granger still writes a good book and he’s got some particularly scrummy looking baking recipes in this one and good breakfasts (if I ever find time beyond sticking bread in the toaster and pouring cereal out the packet). There’s also useful chapters on food on a budget and food that can be frozen. Recipes I’ll probably be making include:

  • Cinnamon crunch muesli
  • Rhubarb and Strawberry breakfast crisp
  • Oaty hotcakes with blueberry maple syrup
  • Melt & Mix Banana Bread
  • Pumpkin & Cinnamon Muffins
  • Sausage, tomato & mozzarella melt
  • Muesli Bars with Apricots & Sesame Seeds
  • Blueberry tea cake
  • Melt & Mix Lemon slice
  • Healthier chocolate & Date Brownies
  • Apple Fruit Cake
  • Cheesy Pasta Gratin
  • Pizza
  • Grilled Beef with Sweet Chilli Relish
  • Chinese style omelette
  • Crispy Crusted Chicken Breasts
  • Red Lentil Soup
  • Gooey Chocolate Cake with Raspberries
  • Pineapple layer pudding
  • Blueberry Pie
Leave a Reply

