How to Draw Anything

20140124-123945.jpg

I am continuing to practice my drawing skills with a book I’ve had on my iPad for a while, How to Draw Anything by Mark Linley. The above is my first attempt and below is my second, I can already see a bit of an improvement, although I had problems with scale in my second picture. They’re both exercises from the book.

20140124-124208.jpg

I like the pen and ink style of drawing. As suggested by the title, the book covers a lot of stuff (pen and ink only), from landscapes, buildings, animals and people. There’s also a few chapters at the back about drawing in a more cartoon style, which Iooks, in my opinion, quite dated, hardly surprising though considering the book was written in 1995. But the books seems worth it for the rest of the more natural looking stuff.

Leave a Reply

