Graveminder

Graveminder by Melissa Marr was my latest audiobook listen, an adult supernatural fantasy set in a small American town. I don’t want to give too much away about this book because part of the thing about reading (or listening) to the book is discovering what is going on alongside the main character, but I will say if you like Stacia Kane’s Downside series, you’ll also probably like this, as it has similar aspects, although Graveminder is less gritty and the romance element also isn’t quite as good, as I like how Stacia Kane’s characters have an on – off again aspect, whilst Marr’s characters are pretty much stuck on one setting, which can get annoying at times and made me want to yell at the characters to get over it as it was getting boring. However, the romance aside (and a few moments where the scene jumped leaving me feel disorientated as to what scene exactly I was listening to now, as Marr had leapt straight into the scene, without any setting up, I know it’s ok to do that occasionally, but it felt like it happened to often in this book), there are some good scenes, particularly the book opening, which was subtly very chilling. Overall though, the story, although not one of my favourite stories I’ve read or listened to this year by far, it was still perfectly entertaining.

Leave a Reply

