Barney Park cushion

Barney Park Stitching Sampler by Charlotte Lyons (& stitched by me)

This has been my embroidery for the sake of embroidery piece for a while, it’s a panel from Charlotte Lyons of House Wren Studio. The design is pre-printed onto the fabric, which is great because even though I now have a much bigger light table, I can never completely transfer the pattern exactly how it was meant to be but, as the blue lines aren’t removable afterwards, you do need to think about the colour of thread you’re using and how many strands.

Barney Park Stitching Sampler by Charlotte Lyons (& stitched by me) This is a sampler pattern and some of the stitches (particularly the lazy daisy stitch) are (I think) impossible to get completely over the blue lines.

Barney Park Stitching Sampler by Charlotte Lyons (& stitched by me)

However you would have the same problem with an iron-on pattern and this pattern was a fun way to get me out of my usual comfort zone of split stitch and back stitch.

Barney Park Stitching Sampler by Charlotte Lyons (& stitched by me)

The panel has a patchwork border and a (wonky) patchwork back.

Barney Park Stitching Sampler by Charlotte Lyons (& stitched by me)

It’s a mixture of whatever fabrics I had on hand that roughly matched the colours I used in the embroidery. There’s bits of everything in there really but there is quite a bit of Amy Butler, Joel Dewberry, vintage, old clothes and V&A reproduction fabric. Girl Lacer helped me a little with this one in choosing the lay out of the squares.

3 thoughts on “Barney Park cushion

Leave a Reply

