Sukie Iron Ons

Now I’ve tried Iron T-shirt things before and did not have much success as the designs washed out after only a few washes, so it was with a slightly dubious feeling did I approach the Sukie Iron-On Craft Pad but it was cheap and I was and still am a sucker for customising T-shirts. (I was also attracted to the ‘New & Improved’ label on the book, figuring that maybe iron on technology had improved a little since I last tried it).

So, I had a go yesterday and it was a disaster! Luckily it was on an old tank top I didn’t particularly like but it was so frustrating as it was a series of butterflies, butterflies 1 – 3 went on fine and looked really good, butterfly 4 just wouldn’t go on properly, ruining the whole top. I had another go today though (working my way through my T-shirts I don’t particularly like pile) and luckily had success with each one. I still have no idea what really went wrong with that butterfly yesterday, as I was using the same technique as I had used with the first three butterflies (and with the iron ons today), so there’s a warning for you, do not use any of these iron ons on anything you would be devastated to ruin. Also, when you peel the iron on off (which is kinda cool as you don’t really get to see what the design looks like properly until you do), make sure you peel the iron on off slowly because if something hasn’t transferred properly you can quickly lay the iron on down again and quickly go over it with the iron again (something I had to do several times). But overall I’m really pleased with the results, specially considering these are all T-shirts which I would have thrown out, probably sooner rather than later.

Sukie Iron T-shirts

There are some quite significant differences between the Mike Perry iron on book I had used before and the Sukie book (although I notice on the listing for the Mike Perry Iron Me on book that that also has a ‘New & Improved’ label, so maybe both books are the same now because my Mike Perry book is well over a year old now, I would be interested to hear from anyone who has bought the Mike Perry book recently). Anyway with my copy of the Mike Perry book, the transfers sort of bled into the fabric (which probably explained why the washed out again so easily), whereas the Sukie transfers are more like stickers that sit on the surface of the fabric and consequently have a far more shiny (quite retro) appearance. I am still a bit dubious about how well these will wash, but I think this time, if they’re going to wash badly, it won’t be because the design has faded it will be because bits of the design has come off, most likely round the edges, it also may crack a bit I reckon, but if it does that it may look even more quite nicely retro. But for the moment, like I say, I’m really pleased with the results, the colours are nice and bold and I like the way (due to how the iron ons appear to be constructed) there’s some layering of the colours in places. Although I would say, comparing to the Mike Perry book again, there aren’t as many good designs for T-shirts than with the Mike Perry book, there are some but I think a lot of the Sukie designs are more suitable for homeware or accessories. Like I say, if anyone has bought and used the Mike Perry book recently, I would be very interested to hear if the transfers have changed much and if they work better now because I really liked the designs in the Mike Perry book and I would be a bit tempted to buy another copy if the iron ons are a lot better.

Oh and one final note, the iron ons do smell when you’re transferring them, so make sure you’re in a well ventilated room.

Leave a Reply

