Sing You Home

Sing You Home (Unabridged Audiobook)

I suppose you could call Sing You Home by Jodi Picoult, chick lit, in which case I don’t normally read (or listen to, as I listened to this as an audiobook) books like this, as I’m more of a fantasy sort of girl most of the time but anyway, I think the term chick lit is bit insulting anyway. I thought Sing You Home was brilliant, it’s about Zoe, a music therapist and her husband Max, a landscape gardener with a bit of a drink problem, who are trying and keep failing to have a baby through IVF treatment. This eventually leads to a divorce and whilst Max initially goes off the rails, Zoe gets to know Vanessa, the counsellor at the school Zoe sometimes works at, better, they become friends and then fall in love. Max on the other hand ends up being converted into an ultra conservative evangelical Christian, joining a church with a lot of homophobic tendencies. So when Zoe asks Max if she and Vanessa can use their remaining frozen embryos, so that Vanessa can get pregnant, you can imagine what Max’s response is.

I thought this was beautifully written, the story is told from the viewpoints of Zoe, Max and Vanessa and all three characters plus the other characters they encounter are all extremely believable in their actions, even if the homophobia from the evangelical church made my skin crawl, I could see from what they were saying / doing why they thought what they were doing was ok. There were no two-dimensional baddies in this book, even if some of their motives weren’t as pure as they were making them out to be. Even Max’s conversion from loose and easy, surfer alcoholic to suit wearing, right wing Christian was believable.

As I’ve said before here, many times in book reviews, I like books where I feel like I’ve learnt something and that I’ve walked in someone else’s shoes for a while and with this book I feel like I’ve learnt about subjects as diverse as music therapy (which was fascinating), to IVF procedures, to homophobia, to teenage depression. I would highly recommend this book, I was holding my breath by the end, waiting for the right decision to hopefully be made.

Leave a Reply

