The Glass of Time

The Glass of Time by Michael Cox is a melodrama set in the late 1800s and is the sequel to The Meaning of Night, which I loved when I read it, eek six years ago. In The Meaning of Night we follow the character of Edward Glyver, who is being thwarted by his enemy Phoebus Daunt, in and around London and the Northamptonshire estate of Evenwood, in The Glass of Time, which is set about 20 years later, we catch up on the results of the machinations between the two men, as we follow further events at Evenwood that have a direct link to what had occurred earlier. There are orphan maids above their rank, mysterious house keepers, haughty Ladyships and secrets everywhere.

The close link between The Meaning of Night and The Glass of Time really made me wish that I had reread The Meaning of Night before reading The Glass of Time because although you can follow the story well enough without having read the first book, which in effect I almost was because I could only just remember the plot, I think I would have enjoyed it even more if I had read one book after the other.

So, in summary The Glass of Time is fantastic if you like period melodramas (and I’ll admit the melodrama does get a bit OTT sometimes), some of the plot points were screamingly obvious and it was a little soppy but the characters were sympathetic and the bad guys convincingly three dimensional, so if that’s your sort of thing, read it but read The Meaning of Night first.

Leave a Reply

