One Day

Christ I really am reading a lot.

Cover of "One Day"

Continuing with what seems to be my running theme of reading books everyone read ages ago, I’ve just read One Day by David Nicholls and I’m sure everyone knows the premise but it’s basically one day in the life (St. Swithin’s Day) of two friends, Emma and Dexter, over 20 years, starting in the late 80s when they meet as students.

We follow Emma and Dexter through their careers or lack of careers, as they stagger through the 90s and into the noughties, weaving in and out of each others lives, which made me feel old, as although I’m 9 years younger than the main characters, I still remember the whole 90s thing far too well; ‘youth’ TV, the music, the food, the politics, the morality.

One Day is bitter sweet and poignant and not quite what I’d expected. Definitely a book for a spot of reminiscing.

2 thoughts on “One Day

  1. I enjoyed the book, though I’d been looking for a happy book to read and although there were laughs you know how it ends. Don’t bother with the flm though as it just doesn’t deliver.

Leave a Reply

