The Invention of Hugo Cabret

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

I’ll be honest, I didn’t even know this was the book they based the film Hugo on, till Mr. Lacer mentioned it (I plan to see the movie just not yet). I just bought the book, a great hulk of a thing, because I thought it looked interesting and pretty, a mixture of text and exquisite hand drawn pencil drawings, the story being told interchangeably by the two mediums.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret tells the story of an orphaned boy who lives in the walls and attic spaces of a Paris train station. He sets and mends the station’s clocks in secret whilst working on a special project of his own…. The story features magic and film and is charming and is, as I thought, interesting, it was certainly a unique way to tell a story and I loved the drawings, particularly the busier ones of the train station and the book shop. But although I thought the story sweet, it didn’t grab me and  the motivation of one of the key characters, the toy shop owner, perplexed me a little. This story felt so deliberately cinematic, I have a feeling I may enjoy it more as a film.

3 thoughts on “The Invention of Hugo Cabret

  1. Be interesting to see what you make of the film. I saw the film but haven’t read the book and was left with the feeling that maybe the book would be better. I think as a whole there is some nice imagery, but the movie felt like a bit of an endurance to be honest. I wonder what kids make of it?

    1. Hi I saw the movie recently and I don’t think much about that either, it was ok, it was just a didn’t set my world on fire sort of thing. My favourite part of the movie was the station inspector and he’s the only real big difference between the movie and the book, in that in the book he’s more of just a distant threat, whereas in the movie he’s definitely a character and at least he adds a bit of comedy.

      1. My favourite bit was when you learn the old geezer’s back story and you get to see all the re-enactments of the crazy 1920’s fantasy movies. I could have watched a whole film of just that!

Leave a Reply

