Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

Full on shocker here, me actually reading one of Mr. Lacer’s books instead of me desperately trying to palm off one of my books on him going “Read it, I know you’ll love it!” – Mr. Lacer, not a great reader but he is a big fan of The Bloggess aka Jenny Lawson and this is her sort of true memoir.

For those that don’t know The Bloggess, she’s a mostly hilarious umm blog writer (kinda obvious that), who writes about her life in Texas. Although Mr. Lacer is the big fan in this house, I have to admit I’ve been following her on Twitter for a while and reading some of her linked blog posts and she is very, very funny and also incredibly poignant as she writes about her struggles with anxiety and depression.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened follows Jenny from her early childhood, living with her ‘unusual’ taxidermist father and her ‘interesting’ school lessons (cow vaginas). To meeting her long suffering husband Victor (I like Victor, he sounds cool) and her life back in Texas, now having moved away and then back again, think scorpions, vultures, killer mould and abandoned graveyards.

I’ve been reading Let’s Pretend This Never Happened on and off over the summer, I took it camping, I swear the tent was shaking with laughter as the book is side splittingly funny, I laughed so hard I had trouble ¬†breathing sometimes. I’m not a massive memoir fan, but this one is good.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

Leave a Reply

