Whispers Under Ground

whispers underground

There’s nothing better than sinking into an old familiar series and The Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch is one such series, specially in audiobook format as the narrator Kobna Holdbrook-Smith is just fantastic and has the main character’s voice just right. For those that don’t know the series; Rivers of London is about the Metropolitan Police’s Magic unit, staffed by Inspector Nightingale and his trainees DC Peter Grant and PC Lesley May. The books are funny, quirky, describe London lusciously and have some great one liners. And there is a fantastic back story involving the rivers of London, each river a feisty godess who likes to party more often than not.

In Whispers Under Ground an American turns up dead on a tube platform and Peter is called in to investigate in case there is anything ‘dodgy’ going on, something ‘dodgy’ is duly found and the clues lead to the underground tunnels and sewers of London, ahhh London and lots of underground sequences, my ideal book.

I love all the Rivers of London books but I think this one is the best yet but honestly, if you haven’t them yet, start from the beginning and I can highly recommend the audiobook.

***** (out of 5)

 

3 thoughts on “Whispers Under Ground

  1. hey there
    I got this for Christmas and I definitely think it’s the best one yet – is that because we all know what’s going on so there’s less explanation necessary? It was brilliant, anyway. I love the combination of pop culture references and magic, it is my perfect thing. Can’t wait for the next one. You are the only person I know (not that I know you, Mrs Lacer, obviously) who has read them – hence this unexpected comment.

    1. I agree, I think it’s because the world’s been set up now, Aaronovitch can go straight to the action, I can’t wait for the next one!

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

