Banana and Cinnamon Cake (Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache)

IMG_1248

I’ve had Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache on my shelf for some time, full of good intention and complete inaction but I’m dieting, again, so I thought what better time to give it a try? Hang on, you go, what’s cake got to do with dieting, specially when the book is called Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache? Well you’re right, cake doesn’t have much to do with diets but I’m fed up of the whole calorie counting thing and more just trying to each sensibly, I also know that the one thing guaranteed to make me want cake, is telling myself I can’t have any. So cue (finally) Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache, written by Harry Eastwood, one of the girls behind the annoying Cook Yourself Slim. Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache is absolute genisus though, as Eastwood has very cleverly invented a whole load of cakes where she’s replaced the butter in* the cake with vegetables. So no butter and less sugar as there’s already a natural sweetness from the vegetables, result!

The banana and cinnamon cake was the first cake I tried, in this case the substitute vegetable was courgette; the resulting cake was incredibly moist, airy and slightly sticky, I’m sure a lot of that was down to the courgette. However the cinnamon was a bit overpowering and I couldn’t really taste the banana. It was a big success with the rest of the family as well, even the kids didn’t care that there was courgette in it.

* don’t worry, there’s no courgette icing, she still uses butter if the cake calls for buttercream icing.

One thought on “Banana and Cinnamon Cake (Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache)

Leave a Reply

