Light shining in the forest

light-shining-in-the-forest

Hmmmm, I know that normally I’m a fairly easy to please reviewer or to put it another way, there’s not many books I don’t like but I didn’t get on that well with Light Shining in the Forest by Paul Torday. It was an interesting premise; set in the small towns and forests of the borderlands on the English – Scottish border, it is about three missing children that the police think are runaways but the newly appointed ‘Children’s Czar’ and a reporter hungry for a decent story think not. However the book has a really weird style, lots of tell and not show and written in present tense, I listened to this as an audiobook and Mr. Lacer heard snatches of this and for the first time ever was drawn to comment on the story I was listening to, saying it sounded like someone was reading a very basic children’s book and it was true. The book is also bordering on the preachy (about missing children and Government Fat Cats) and has some weird religious stuff going on to. I realise Paul Torday’s Salmon Fishing in the Yemen is pretty popular but Light Shining in the Forest is my first Torday book and on the basis of it, my last.

*** (out of 5)

Leave a Reply

