Flour-free chocolate and beetroot cake (Love, Bake, Nourish)

IMG_1387
I’m in the middle of having a bit of a thing about beetroot, which is unfortunate for the rest of the family, as no one else likes it. Today it was flour-free chocolate and beetroot cake from Love, Bake, Nourish by Amber Rose. Love, Bake, Nourish is a bit like Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache, in that it’s ‘healthy’ cakes, except this time as well as getting rid of the butter (in most of the cakes), Rose has also (in most of her cakes) got rid of the sugar to, well the processed sugar, there is honey, but not that much. But unlike Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache, where there you have various vegetables hidden in the cakes (to make up for no butter and to reduce the amount of sugar that is needed), the flour free chocolate and beetroot cake in Love, Bake, Nourish, is one of only a small handful of cakes in the book with vegetables in, I’m not quite sure how Rose does it, it’ll be interesting to see what her Victoria Sponge type cakes (of which there are quite a few variations), taste like with no sugar. So far though I’ve been talking about what’s not in the cakes (and puddings and tarts to), what is in them is quite a lot of fruit, hence the ‘nourish’ bit of the title I guess and of course that makes up for the lack of sugar.

So, the flour free chocolate and beetroot cake, it was fun making, which is a big part of the point of baking I think, it smelt gorgeous and was fairly simple to do. I was surprised when the cake came out of the oven, there’s still definitely a purple tint, I had thought the brown of the chocolate would overwhelm and upon tasting the cake, you could still taste it as well, but in a nice way (I suspect that the rest of my family aren’t going to think that). It’s very rich, more out of curiosity and less to do with me supposedly being on a diet, I worked out the Weight Watcher’s points value, 7, for those lucky enough to avoid Weight Watchers, a can of coke is 4, a bar of chocolate 5 – 6, no idea what a slice of normal chocolate cake would be, I suspect a lot more than 7. The richness is probably a good thing, makes it so that one slice is definitely enough, I will see if the rest of Lacers will eat it when they get home from work and school today but I suspect I’m going to have to try and freeze slices or something because there’s no way I could eat all that cake myself before it went off. There was one thing I didn’t really like about the cake to, although it was bearable (that’d be the chocolate for you), the ground almonds that allowed the cake to be flour free, I don’t ‘mind’ almonds, specially ground almonds, I can’t normally taste them if a cake recipe calls for them to be included but here I can and it’s a bit off putting. It’s a very strong flavoured cake thinking about it, with three things; the chocolate, the beetroot and the nuts assaulting your taste buds, no bland shop bought thing this cake!

Flourless chocolate and beetroot cake

One thought on “Flour-free chocolate and beetroot cake (Love, Bake, Nourish)

Leave a Reply

