Happy Birthday Mr. Lacer

20130629-142804.jpg

Not the most successful birthday cake I have ever made, I blame impulse sale shopping in Lakeland a few months ago. They had a bread shaped cake mould very heavily discounted probably because everyone else going into Lakeland had far more sense than me, but I was all “ohh you could split it into two and put jam in the middle and it’d be like a cake jam sandwich!” even though normally I avoid novelty cake moulds like the plague, as they’re difficult to judge the correct amount of mixture and the timings, plus there’s only so many times you want to cook a bread shaped cake. But I bought it. Mr. Lacer likes Victoria sponge cakes, so it was perfect for him, so I made the Victoria sponge recipe minus the gooseberry variation that I had made earlier this week from How to Be a Domestic Goddess. The resulting cake was fine (not quite as nice as the gooseberry variation though, I think the elderflower squash in the batter really makes a nice difference). I think the fact that it was meant to look like a bread jam sandwich was totally lost on everyone, it just looked like I’d had problems with the cake filling the (normal) cake tin properly, too much lining paper or something.

Leave a Reply

