Berry Good Fairy Cakes

IMG_1944

School’s back and Autumn has made a surprisingly early appearance this year and it’s all about settling into new / old routines. The kids’ after school clubs aren’t all back on yet and when they are my opportunity for a bit of late afternoon baking will probably be curtailed, so for the moment I’m making the most of it. We’re trying to cut down on ‘snacky stuff’, me and Mr. Lacer may as well give a part of our wage packets each month to the makers of Hob Nobs, so we’ve got less biscuits and stuff in the house but that doesn’t stop me wanting to eat something a little sweet (which is unfortunate as I’m meant to be on a diet). That’s where Love, Bake, Nourish comes in, I’ve cooked from it before in an effort which was admittedly not that successful, as it was too chocolatey but this attempt was a lot better. One of my impromptu baking rules is that it’s got to be something I can cook where all the ingredients are in the house, well for a start if you’re missing an ingredient and you have to go and leave the house to get it it turns out to be not so impromptu and I normally can’t be bothered. Admittedly I have been recently even more organised than normal with my baking supplies and I am well stocked, so most recipes are doable.

Mrs. Lacer’s baking stock list

  • Plain flour
  • Self raising flour
  • Caster sugar
  • Light brown sugar
  • Vanilla paste / extract
  • Stork
  • Eggs
  • Honey
  • Cocoa powder
  • Dark chocolate
  • White chocolate
  • Cupcake cases
  • Cinnamon
  • Baking powder etc.
  • Mixed raisins
  • Frozen fruit (apples, blackberries, blueberries, raspberries)
  • Oats

And I also have a selection of random baking left overs from when I have been bothered to go and get an extra ingredient (wholemeal flour, milk chocolate, mini marshmallows etc.). In the case of the Berry Good Fairy Cakes the extra ‘special’ ingredient was spelt flour, I remember when I got Love, Bake, Nourish, which is into spelt flour in a BIG way, at the beginning of the year, I looked for spelt flour and couldn’t find any (and I live in a foodie suburb of London, well stocked with big supermarkets), so when I spotted spelt flour a few months later (in the supermarket) I grabbed some …. and then didn’t get round to cooking with it until now. So my first make with spelt flour and I’m impressed, it gives the cupcakes a slightly grainer texture, which I like. There were other health benefits to these cupcakes as well, there’s no sugar (which made the creaming the butter stage awkward, I used by food mixer, halving the ingredients as I didn’t fancy my waistline if I made 36 of them and I think if I were to make them in a half quantity again I wouldn’t bother with my food mixer and do it by hand), instead the sweetness is from the honey. There’s yoghurt in there to, it’s not the most conventional cupcake mix and for a moment there, as I mixed it all in, I was highly dubious about whether it was all going to work, but it did.

They’re meant to have a cream cheese frosting but Girl Lacer hates most icing and well, I didn’t have any cream cheese anyway. Without the frosting each cupcake is only 70 calories! Unfortunately they’re quite small and I’ve eaten a lot of them. Love, Bake, Nourish, you are officially forgiven for the overly chocolately chocolate cake nobody really liked, I need to cook more from you!

Leave a Reply

