Creative Wednesday: Playing with sweet dough (Cinnamon bun-cake from Scandilicious Baking)

20131113-125141.jpg

Other than some hot cross buns, I’m not sure if I’ve made any other sweet doughs before, I certainly should do it more often as this was delicious. The dough, although wet, was surprisingly easy to manipulate and although I misread the instructions and used the knife the instructions specifically told me not to use, when cutting the bun ‘Swiss roll’ into individual little buns, so consequently the top of my rolls don’t have that much definition, I found the whole thing surprisingly easy. The cake tears into portions as if it were Chelsea buns, which is what I was sort of expecting the cake to sort of taste like, thinking “bah-humbug this isn’t a cake, it’s just some buns that haven’t been separated yet” but on first actual bite, yep, it’s actual cake and not at all Chelsea bun like. I really like how a mixture of flours is used here; white spelt flour and wholemeal (it would have been wholemeal spelt if I had some) flour, it gives a nice texture and the cinnamon – sugar – butter filling is gorgeous! The dough has cardamom in, which I’m not sure about, being not a massive fan of the spice but it adds an authenticity to the cake but it may put my kids off, specially Girl Lacer, which is not that bad (mean mummy), more for me! I loved the hint to scald the milk at the beginning, it did as the recipe said it would do, it made the buns so so much softer.

This is, I think, the first time I’ve used Scandilicious Baking, it’s been sitting there on my bookcase taunting me for well over a year, I so need to make more from it, I think I will definitely make this cake again, I love how the resting stages gives you those little windows of time to go and clear up as you work and maybe get a load of laundry on or something, with that smug filling that at the same time you’re also making something nice. The book has savoury as well as sweet recipes and the bread section is very comprehensive. The book is beautifully laid out with some beautiful photos and I love the emphasis on spelt flour. I would give only one proviso, from a family perspective, as someone with still fairly young kids, I’m not sure this book is particularly full of recipes they specifically are going to love, with the spices and other flavourings, it’s quite grown up (although there are some more kid like recipes, like a birthday cake and buns on sticks). But grown up is GOOD, as I try more and more to make most of the sweet stuff that is eaten in the house (failing miserably at that at the moment due to being busy at work), baking is almost in danger of becoming a chore, so it’s books like Scandilicious Baking, with it’s new flavours and tastes, that take it more back to being my HOBBY. And besides, I suspect Boy Lacer at least will be my partner in consumption with these (and that there is hope for all you parents of small, fussy children, particularly ASD children, who can have very limited food likes, Boy Lacer used to be extremely fussy, there’s still some stuff he won’t eat but he has an incredibly adventurist palate these days and I’d like to thank, as for most things, my kids’ school in that).

Leave a Reply

