Creative Wednesday: Catching up with my WIP pile (part I)

Skeletons doing a dance of celebration because I finally got my sewing machine out.
Skeletons doing a dance of celebration because I finally got my sewing machine out.

There has been a complete lack of embroidery on this blog for a while I know, it’s absolutely not that I haven’t been doing any, I’ve actually done quite a lot but it’s all stuff that needs to be sewn into things and that’s where the hold up always happens. Anyway, day off work today, so I managed to crack into my pile a bit. The above is an embroidery pattern from Urban Threads and was stitched around Halloween time but nothing wrong with skeletons anytime of the year. I stitched it up into this shopper.

IMG_2054

Unfortunately from a distance the bright yellow skeleton doesn’t show up as well as I hoped, one of the hazards of using a dark pattern transfer pen I guess, as the yellow was much more obvious, with the pattern transfer lines underneath and then not so obvious when I ironed away the markings.

And the award for bad embroidery photography goes to ....
And the award for bad embroidery photography goes to ….

I know you can’t particularly tell what it is from the photos (in my justification, the light is terrible) but it’s a wrapping storage bag, I’ve been meaning to make one for years. With the kids’ birthdays and Christmas so close together, for about three months a year we get through a lot of wrapping paper and then it barely gets touched for the rest of the year but I prefer buying my wrapping paper in bulk, as I’m always wrapping presents at the last minute and get paranoid I’m going to run out of paper. Plus we can never find the sellotape or scissors (due to, I swear, the kids eating them). So, it’s a long, two tone (I know, difficult to tell) drawstring bag, with a large front pocket (the bit with the bear on) for sellotape and scissors (once I can find the sellotape and scissors).

What finally got me to actually get the sewing machine out to make the bag (after years of seeing similar bags in the shops and going “no, I’m not going to buy one, I can make one” and of course never actually doing it), is the Most Excellent Party Bear pattern from Follow the White Bunny. I love this pattern but I think bear looks a little harassed, as I probably do sometimes in birthday / Christmas season, but I think bear looks harassed and determined and is probably a really organised bear who knows exactly where his wrapping paper, scissors and sellotape are, so I thought the pattern was perfect for a wrapping paper bag.

Leave a Reply

