Easter making

20140420-144534.jpg

Mr. Lacer and Girl Lacer were away yesterday, so when Boy Lacer was in bed, I made the most of having the living room to myself, bought the sewing machine in there and sewed. I am normally very very limited with my creative space, the flat we live in is tiny and there are four of us, we will move, possibly next year but I have a feeling that my lack of creative space will probably follow me, as we’ll probably have no choice but to move from our tiny two bed place to a tiny three bed place and that extra space will be to finally give the kids their own separate bedrooms, no craft room for me. Anyway, last night I had the ‘luxury’ of our ‘dining room’ table, extended to ooh half size and nobody complaining I was getting in the way of them watching television, so I made the most of it. I made the kids a couple of ‘gift’ tote bags, with appliqué, rough patchwork eggs on the front. I had great fun raiding my stash for some lovely bright crisp colours that worked together (IMO at least). I particularly liked how the blue star fabric goes with the Lu Summers fabric you can just see peeking out from the back of the front bag and I always like using that dinosaur fabric, there’s never enough reasons to use it and well dinosaurs lay eggs and eggs are Easter, so dinosaurs are officially an Easter animal.

Mr. Lacer and Girl Lacer were back today, for Easter lunch we had the option of either two of our normal Sunday lunch options, we don’t really do Sunday lunch you see but we do like bolognaise or lasagne and we consider it Sunday lunch-ish if it’s done properly, ie not out of a jar and definitely not out of a ready meal packet and the recipe has to be my adapted Tana Ramsay recipe (for either the bolognaise or the lasagne). Today we chose bolognaise. For dessert we had a giant hot cross bun, except the cross didn’t work well, so we put icing on the top instead but obviously that didn’t work because the bun was still warm.

20140420-150235.jpg

But hot cross buns are meant to be Good Friday anyway aren’t they (I always make them late and actually normally start scoffing shop bought ones from Waitrose around January, those cinnamon and raisin ones are so nice), so being sort of cross-less doesn’t matter. What mattered is that it tasted delicious, an incredibly thick crusty crust (which I wasn’t expecting but was nice) and lovely sweet flavoured bread inside. The bun was brushed with apricot jam, which does make it incredibly messy to eat though. You can find the recipe here

One thought on “Easter making

Leave a Reply

