The Circle

20140517-142951.jpg

The Circle by Dave Eggers tells the story of Mae, a new employee of The Circle (think Google crossed with Apple). At first everything seems perfect, the dream job, in a company making the dream products and services. As I read the opening of the book I couldn’t help but think “Cor I wish I worked somewhere like that” or “You know they actually really should make that product,” but it wasn’t long before I was thinking “Hang on a minute, that’s actually not good….”. The Circle is about how tech companies can become a monopoly and start to intrude on all aspects of life.

I really liked the story but I think that’s because I like my tech and I work in a tech related industry, however from a purely writing standpoint, the book was incredibly preachy, the twist was obvious and the main character Mae as two dimensional as hell. But because I liked the story, I’m still going to give it 5 stars, however I think this is a Marmite book, I think you’re going to either love it or hate it.

***** (out of 5)

One thought on “The Circle

Leave a Reply

