Matisse and the Southbank

IMG_2539

I went to see the Matisse exhibition at Tate Modern with my sister today. I walked there through Southbank, which is always a pleasure. Stopping off first at a food fair (which is there every weekend I think).

IMG_2536

And then onwards

IMG_2537 IMG_2538 IMG_2541

The Matisse exhibition was fantastic, if very crowded. It showed his work chronologically and it was fascinating to see how his style progressed and got more sophisticated. It was also interesting to see some of the technique behind his work (drawing pins etc) and I agree with Matisse’s sentiment that he didn’t like how his work looked when published because you loose the texture of the work, I’ve seen lots of Matisse’s pieces in print and in real life, with the real life texture, they have much more of a depth to them. It was a good idea of the exhibitors to exhibit the artwork from his book Jazz, alongside actual pages of the book, so you could see the difference between the originals and the printed versions. I loved Matisse’s use of colour and shape, so bright and gorgeous, when I do my embroidery I tend to go for more muted tones, I wish I could work in Matisse’s bright colours but I think everyone has their own favourite colour palette, although maybe it does you good to go beyond that sometimes, so maybe I’ll give it a try.

We also saw some of the other galleries at Tate Modern, most of the stuff I’d seen before but I did discover the fantastically inspiring work of Alexander Brodsky and Ilya Utkin and a rather spooky film installation from Bill Viola called Tiny Deaths.

Leave a Reply

