On the menu: winter food

Monday

 

IMG_3371

I’d been craving a decent macaroni cheese for ages and by decent I mean lots of flavour (not necessarily lots of cheese) and preferably bacon. Problem is Boy Lacer doesn’t like cheesy pasta (the strange child) and although the rest of us like / love macaroni, I try not to go down the route of cooking separate meals for each person often, so macaroni just doesn’t get made. But it was a Monday lunch time, just me in the house, I had (for once) a bit of time, so I had a google for macaroni cheese recipes for one and found this one. I didn’t have all the ingredients, so I substituted onion powder for some herbs de provence, skipped the bread crumbs and of course put bacon in and it was gorgeous. I did overcook the pasta a bit, I knew to cook less than the recommended time on the packet but I should have gone for even less time but even then it was still fine and really quick to make to (relatively)!

Monday and Wednesday

IMG_3392

Inspired by actually getting my act together and making the macaroni cheese I also made gingerbread biscuit dough on Monday evening, stuck it in the fridge and baked them on Wednesday (couldn’t do it any earlier šŸ˜¦ ). The recipe is from the Primrose Bakery Christmas book and as I was making it (a process that smelt alchemically gorgeous by the way) I couldn’t help thinking (as much as it was fun making) that I had foundĀ the perfect gingerbread biscuit recipe last year and I should have looked up on my blog to see where I had found the recipe. It was only after I had baked the biscuits and eaten oneĀ some did I think “hmm this is goodĀ andĀ very familiar”, the mix of spices and orange peel in the biscuits is just perfect for Christmas and only then did I look up where I had got the recipe from last Christmas and I found that last Christmas I had in fact used exactly the same recipe but I had got the recipe from the Primrose Hill Bakery app. So there you go, if you’re looking for the perfect Christmas gingerbread biscuit recipe, there’s two places you can get it from.

Leave a Reply

