The Wolves of London: Obsidian Heart

The Wolves of London: The Obsidian HeartThe Wolves of London: The Obsidian Heart by Mark Morris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I had been put off this book because I was under the (mistaken) impression that it was another Rivers of London wannabe but I’m really glad I gave it a chance. Yep, if you like Rivers of London you’ll probably like this, if you try not to compare it too much to the Rivers of London because yes in a way it’s similar and in another way it’s totally different.

So I’ll shut up talking about Rivers of London (by the way if you haven’t read the Rivers of London books, READ THEM) and review The Wolves of London. The Wolves of London tells the tale of Alex, a South London ex con family man whose made good, he thinks he’s left his criminal past way behind him when he is forced to help get his daughter’s boyfriend out of a spot of bother by stealing an obsidian heart. The theft does not go well and Alex’s life is turned upside down as he is forced on the run from The Wolves of London, a sinister steampunkesque band of monsters.

The book is pretty gory in points and as I’m the sort of person who hides behind the sofa at anything remotely scary on TV, there were bits which made my toes literally curl. I ‘read’ this as an audiobook and I will admit there were parts I listened to where I wished I could get away with forwardwinding, however I was enjoying the story so much I didn’t want to miss anything.

This is the first of a trilogy and consequently there’s no resolution at the end of the book, which is a bit frustrating (I prefer series where if there is an over arcing story there’s at least some resolution of a smaller plot point at the end of each book) but I’ll definitely be reading the next two.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

