On the menu: Blueberries

Saturday

IMG_3519

 

Another mug cake from the Mug Cakes book, this one was the blueberry recipe. I was not tempted to overcook it this time, so the cake was a lot moister and had therefore less resemblance to a motorway service station cake. However there were a few patches around the edge of the cake that weren’t cooked properly and still cake batter-y, it looks like getting these mug cakes cooked perfectly is a fine art.

Monday

IMG_0688

 

The previous day the kids had attempted to make scones from the Great British Bake Off: How to Bake book and, well, I don’t know, I wasn’t really supervising (other than the hot bits), so I don’t know for 100% sure that it was a dodgy recipe but the dough was way too sticky to make scones properly (and I suspect it was a dodgy recipe as it was one of those where there’s an ingredient in the ingredient list which doesn’t get mentioned at all in the instructions – hate that). So the kids took great big sticky lumps of the mixture and baked them instead, the result was actually quite nice, if a bit small, they tasted like good scones but didn’t look like scones.

Boy Lacer, disappointed by the smallness of the aforementioned scones, asked me to make some more, so I tried with a recipe for Blueberry Buttermilk Scones from the Huckleberry* book and ahem, the result, as you can see from the photo above, was not exactly scone like. They just flopped everywhere. They’re extremely nice though (very lemony and, thanks to the slightly unusual method for including the blueberries, with nice, intact fruit) but they’re definitely more cake like in texture than scone like. And there I was getting all excited as I was making them, as I thought I’d found (thanks to the recipe’s instructions to freeze the scones before baking) a good recipe to make in large batches and then just take out what I needed (i.e. a more diet proof few at a time) from the freezer. However, I guess just because they’re not scone like, that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t make them again.

Mr. Lacer, the man who resolutely does not cook (he’s going to deny that now, ok he can reheat stuff 😉 ) has witnessed the last few days of unsuccessful scone baking and even he is now determined to see if he alone can actually make good scones, we will see.

*Amazon affliate link (ignore my scone disaster, this looks like a really good book and I’m not just saying that because I want you to click on the link!)

Leave a Reply

