Chasing Magic

Chasing Magic (Downside Ghosts, #5)Chasing Magic by Stacia Kane

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Eek I loved this book! The main character, Chess, the drug addict church witch from an abusive past and her boyfriend Terrible, an enforcer for a local drug lord, have to be the best literary couple ever and I don’t normally go in for lovey-dovey stuff in books. The scene when Chess goes to find Terrible after he’s been ignoring her texts and then the scene on the roof top towards the end, awwwwww! Definitely pulling at all the emotions!

Anyway I’m getting ahead of myself, Chasing Magic is book 5 of the Downside Ghosts series (please I need book 6 now!) and in this one there is a series of gruesome deaths linked to black magic, with something making ordinary Downside citizens act like zombies. Chess has to investigate.

My only tiny weeny criticism (and this is minuscule) is that I thought the reason why the bad guys were doing what they were doing was pretty obvious from early on in the book, as Kane was dropping some pretty heavy hints, so I’d have liked a bit more suspense but other than that, eeek I loved it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

