Giant Jam Tart (my challenge me bake for January 2015)

IMG_3556

As well as challenging myself to try something new each month this year (#TSNEM), I also challenged myself to baking something that is more adventurous than what I normally bake, to make a type of bread and to make an item of clothing each months and it’s *ahem* 28th January already but I’m still trying to stick with it!

Regarding the adventurous bake, I’ve been struggling to come up with a definition of what is adventurous for me; I’m not about to start baking Great British Bake Off styley show stoppers, as I’m not baking for the sort of things that need that sort of food but at the same time it needs to be more than the normal bung everything in a bowl and stir, which really is what most of my baking amounts to. I’d like it also to be about the sort of stuff I see being made on TV where I think “I’d like to make that if I had the time” (eclairs spring very predominately to mind with that one) but I don’t because I don’t make time.

So anyway, January’s adventurous bake turned out to be a bit of a cheat as it wasn’t exactly adventurous and although it did involve more steps than bung it all into a bowl and stir, I could have perhaps made my own puff pastry (something I’ve always wanted to do). Anyway, at least I made (as instructed by the recipe from John Whaite Bakes at Home) my own quick jam and it was delicious, how come the combination of blueberries and raspberries is just so nice? Why isn’t there blueberry and raspberry flavour everything in the shops everywhere! It will definitely be a flavour combination I remember in the future. Anyway, so much for challenging, it was really easy to make but who cares, cos it tastes so good!

 

Leave a Reply

