The Severed Streets

The Severed StreetsThe Severed Streets by Paul Cornell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Having read the original Shadow Police book (London Falling), I was in no particular rush to read the second, as although I thought London Falling had some very good bits, there were others bits which were just a bit meh. Anyway, fast forward two years and I was having trouble finding a tempting enough looking audiobook on Audible, so I thought I might as well go for The Severed Streets, the second Shadow Police book and although yes, once again there were some meh bits, those very good bits were still there to and I liked how in book 2, the story feels a little more established.

In The Severed Streets the streets of London are very troubled indeed, there are more riots and the police are threatening to strike, against this backdrop a prominent Lib Dem MP is murdered by what, to everyone else (without The Sight) appears to be an invisible assailant. There are soon echoes of Jack the Ripper, although this time Jack is going after rich, privileged, white men. The book harks back to the original story, bits I will admit I had trouble remembering, London Falling obviously hadn’t left that much of an impression on me and I also had trouble remembering sometimes who was who in the investigative team, with the men of the team being not that distinguishable from each other. There was also an ‘interesting’ inclusion of a very famous real life author, who on first encounter in the story seems a bit of a nice but a bit weird tack on, there just to shoe in some more necessary information for the plot background, this did sort of resolve itself but it still felt a bit jarring.

But despite all my whinging I’m still going to give it 4 stars as overall I enjoyed the story, even with its flaws, I think the whole premise is brilliant and I very much look forward to seeing where Cornell takes it from here.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

