Slouch hat

IMG_3732

 

I can’t seem to stop knitting this year; this is the Slouch Hat from Knitting Smitten by Jessica Biscoe and it was my first ever project knitting in the round, so another #TSNEM for this month!

I found it fairly easy once I got my head around it, although I did rip out my first attempt as I had made a mistake and I was also worried that casting on 52 stitches as the pattern instructed was not going to be big enough for my large head, so on the second attempt I cast on 65 stitches, kicking myself shortly afterwards that it should have been an even number as the pattern involved K2tog but it worked out ok in the end.

The resulting hat is really comfortable, I particularly like how it covers my ears, although on a personal note I don’t like how my glasses then go and make the sides of my head under the hat look all weird and bulgy (I am increasingly leaning towards going back to contact lenses).

I really like the wool, Debbie Bliss Donegal Tweed Chunky, although I think there’s a typo in the pattern as it says to use one 100g ball and when I went shopping I could only find it in 50g balls, so I bought two and one 50g ball was definitely enough.

As I get older I’m increasingly realising and settling on a personal colour palette for me and I know now that I could happily wear just mid to dark greys, mid to dark blues and splashes of red for the rest of my life. So I could definitely knit more with this wool!

#TSNEM

January – acrylic painting

February – ribbingusing layer masks in Photoshop and knitting in the round

Leave a Reply

