RSN Needlework Sale and some Hampton Court photos

DSCF4681

I went to the RSN sale at Hampton Court Palace today, it’s on this weekend as well, so if you’re in the area I’d recommend it, prepare to have the patience of a saint though, it is extremely crowded. The sale is mainly second hand, donated stuff and it raises money for the RSN, it’s mainly fabric, thread, wool, buttons, cross stitch kits and a good selection of embroidery frames. A lot of it is vintage, in fact a lot of it looked like the remains of various little old ladies craft stashes after they’ve passed on, so it’s quite sad in a way. I wonder if they specifically gift it to the RSN in their wills?

Most of the stuff is all very cheap, the most expensive thing by far I bought was the big bag of Appleton crewel wool for a fiver and considering you’d probably only get 3-4 skeins for a fiver normally, that’s an absolute bargain. Everything else was much cheaper (Mr. Lacer). Not all of it’s for me, I’m going to gift some of it.

DSCF4646

 

As I was there, I thought I might as well pop into Hampton Court Palace itself as well. It was still relatively early in the morning and despite the scrum in the RSN sale the rest of the palace was almost deserted, which felt deliciously almost illicit, like I shouldn’t be there. It’s been a while since I was last in the palace and they have a new (to me) policy of keeping more of the doors shut (to help preserve the environment), the doors you can open have signs on (luckily, as there’s a lot of doors at Hampton Court you can’t open!), but even so, as it was so quiet, I kind of felt, as I opened and closed the large, imposing wooden doors, that I was sneaking in (even though I did pay!).

As it was early in the morning to, the light was gorgeous and I had fun photographing the contrast between the light and the shadows and the quiet meant I could concentrate on one of my favourite bits of the palace, all those long corridors! I’ve recently watched Wolf Hall and I had a lot of fun imagining King Henry and Cromwell walking down those corridors, having the place almost to myself made it so easy to imagine it was almost spooky.

DSCF4650 DSCF4652 DSCF4654 DSCF4655 DSCF4656 DSCF4659 DSCF4662 DSCF4665 DSCF4672 DSCF4677

One thought on “RSN Needlework Sale and some Hampton Court photos

  1. I’m very jealous! When I get the funds to travel to the uk, the RSN is high on my list of places to visit & hopefully I will be able to work their sale in to an itinerary.

Leave a Reply

