On the menu – cheese and rye scones

Wednesday

IMG_3938

 

I wanted to make cheese soda bread rolls but I couldn’t find a recipe I liked, so I settled for cheese scones instead. They’re based on the cheddar and rosemary scones from Paul Hollywood’s Bread but were adapted because it was very much a case of use what I’ve got / catering towards Girl Lacer’s unreasonable bias towards rosemary. I didn’t have any wholemeal self raising flour, so used all white self raising flour and I didn’t have any malted bread flour*, so I used rye flour. I replaced the rosemary with herbs de provenance, which ssh don’t tell Girl Lacer, but I’ve been using it in the family cooking for ages and it does have rosemary in it. I also didn’t have any egg for the egg wash, so I used milk. And I think the result is pretty nice, they haven’t risen particularly well but they’ve risen a bit and that’s what counts and they taste nice, which counts even more. The dough was nice and easy to handle too, which we’ve had problems with when making scones in this house before.

So as I’ve adapted the recipe quite a bit, for once I’m going to post the recipe, but this is my version, if you want Paul Hollywood’s Cheddar and Rosemary scones, buy the book.

Cheese and Rye Scones

  • 180g self raising flour
  • 65g rye flour
  • 2 good pinches of herbs de provenance (or other mixed dried herbs)
  • 150g grated cheddar
  • 175ml semi skimmed milk
  • plain flour for dusting
  1. Preheat your oven to 220 C. Mix together the flours, then the herbs and 100g of the cheese in a bowl.
  2. Add most of the milk to the bowl and combine by either hand or wooden spoon. Mix until you have a soft, dough like mix, adding more of the milk if necessary.
  3. Tip the mixture onto a floured work surface and pat it together to form a dough ready for the rolling pin (don’t over work).
  4. Gentle roll out the dough until 2.5cm thick. Cut out 6 scones using a plain 8cm cutter. You may need to roll out the dough again to cut all 6. (When cutting out the scones don’t twist the cutter to release the scone from the rest of the dough, as this inhibits the rise).
  5. Transfer the scones to a baking tray lined with baking parchment.
  6. Brush the tops of the scones with some of the remaining milk (or extra if you’ve already used it up) and top the scones with the remaining cheese.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes (until risen and golden brown).
  8. Transfer the scones to a wire rack to cool. They are ideally eaten still warm from the oven but they do freeze well and can be then warmed through to serve.

*I’ve come to the conclusion lately that I have way too many speciality ingredients in my way too small kitchen. Ok I didn’t have any malted flour or self raising wholemeal in my kitchen but I do have (off the top of my head); plain flour, self raising white flour, buckwheat flour, white spelt flour, wholemeal spelt flour, white bread flour, wholemeal flour, pasta flour and some obscure french flour I haven’t got a clue what I bought it for (although the packet is opened, so I must have used it at some point) and which I might as well chuck out now as it’s not going to get used. So I really don’t have room for malted flour, another thing I’d probably only use once (I could maybe do with the self raising wholemeal, but probably not). As it is I’ve been using spelt flour a lot in my baking recently, even when not called for because I’m trying to use the darn stuff up!

Leave a Reply

