Easter on the menu – Simnel Cake

IMG_0702

We haven’t done much to ‘celebrate’ Easter this year (I say ‘celebrate’ because we’re not a religious family), the kids have got their chocolate eggs as usual but that and the simnel cake I’ve made is about it, in fact I’m working for most of the holiday (and we’ve just had semi homemade veg and bacon pizza for Easter Sunday lunch). The simnel cake is from Louise Johncox The Baker’s Daughter and it was a pretty nice, if standard fruit cake (although I always like the marzipan bit in the middle). I didn’t do the 11 marzipan balls thing because I was feeling lazy and at risk of being a bit of a hypocrite if I did anyway, I also consequently didn’t do the egg yolk and browning it under the grill thing either. I know I could have made some sort of chocolate Easter cake instead (with less religious connotations) but I like fruit cake and the kids eat enough chocolate this weekend anyway.

Leave a Reply

