On the menu: chocolate cake

Tuesday

IMG_4045

I’ve been craving homemade chocolate cake and this is not healthy homemade chocolate because I don’t think homemade healthy chocolate cake should really exist but I did wince a bit at the amount of butter, sugar and then golden syrup that went into this. The recipe is from Lisa Faulkner’s Tea and Cake, it’s meant to have a runny chocolate icing on but story of my life, I always bake a few hours before I’m due to start work and I always run out of time, it’s a good thing I’m not a massive fan of icing then and after all that fat and sugar then went into the cake, adding more fat and sugar on top for the icing, it would have made me feel a bit more guilty, more difficult to store to. It’s a bit of a shame though, although I’m not a massive fan of icing this one did look good.

This is the first recipe I’ve made from Tea and Cake with Lisa Faulkner and I have to admit I was dubious, as the cake batter, due to the addition of 250ml of boiling water, was extremely runny, so I wasn’t sure if it was going to work or not. Also, I am terrible in that I very very rarely sieve flour, I honestly don’t think it makes much of a difference but I wish I had with this cake, as the runny nature of the batter made the lumps really obvious, still, not so obvious once baked. Also the recipe called for a 900g loaf tin, now to me a loaf tin is a loaf tin and I’ve forgotten what size mine are a long time ago and well, I discovered then my loaf tins must be smaller, as I had just about enough batter for two cakes, which is good actually in my book, as two cakes are always better than one, even if I’d actually used the right loaf tin, it would have still have been the same volume of cake.

Leave a Reply

