Child 44

Child 44 (Leo Demidov, #1)Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d been meaning to read Child 44 for a long time but I kept putting it off, in the end it was the advertising for the movie that persuaded me, although as it turns out I didn’t particularly like the book, so I’m even less likely to watch the movie now.

I found the beginning of the book, about Leo the Russian security officer and his work, incredibly slow and a bit dull. It did pick up later on in the book as Leo starts to investigate a series of child murders and it sped up even more towards the end but it really felt like I had to wade through mud to get to the reasonably good bits. The book was an interesting look though at what it was like to live in Russia after the war, it sounds like it was absolutely grim.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

