The Raven’s Head

The Raven's HeadThe Raven’s Head by Karen Maitland

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I loved Karen Maitland’s earlier books but recently her books have been so so and I thought this one, a tale of an apprenticed librarian, a young boy taken by monks and an apothecary’s assistant, was heading the same way. The beginning was slow and cliched, it was a real struggle to read at first but the story did pick up with lots of black magic plus a bonus early medieval appearance of a town I used to live in and a place where my dad used to work (I have a soft spot for books featuring locations I know, particularly in historical novels).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

