Knots and Crosses

Knots and Crosses (Inspector Rebus, #1)Knots and Crosses by Ian Rankin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Whilst still in book hangover from the Logan McRae series, I’ve been searching around for a new book obsession and I thought I’d go for some more Tartan Noir with the Rebus series. I’ve started at the beginning with Knots and Crosses, written way back in the 80s, so everyone is smoking everywhere, whereas compared to the McRae series, they’re all huddling outside in the rain with their fags and in Rebus’ world computers are new fangled things and case reviews are done by getting the secretary to get the paper files out of storage.

It was interesting reading the note from Rankin at the beginning of the book, he wrote Knots and Crosses as a student and he admits to cringing at some of the lines and overuse of big, fancy words such as manumission and I have to admit, having a policeman think such literary thoughts didn’t some how ring true, even though it was explained how much Rebus is in to books. Same as during a key scene where they’re chasing the suspect they still get the chance to admire the architecture!

So if I’m looking for a new series to get into, I’m not sure the Rebus series is it. It doesn’t have the same humour as the McRae books and it doesn’t have the same level of human interactions either. However it wasn’t a bad read, a story about a serial killer strangling school girls and Rebus is an interesting character and I suspect the series probably does get better as Rankin gets more under Rebus’ skin (and maybe uses slightly less pretentious words), so I may well read more.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

