The Versatile Blogger Award

I’ve bethe-versatile-blogger-awarden nominated for The Versatile Blogger award by the lovely Bridgeen from Geen Geenie (go check her blog out, you may remember her from Cherry &Cinnamon).

The award rules are:

  • Thank the person who gave you this award –  Include a link to their blog √
  • Next, select 15 blogs that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly, nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger award and include a link back to the post on your site announcing their nomination
  • And finally, tell us all 7 things about yourself that we might not already know!

I’ve been blogging for a long time, in fact (I didn’t realise this until I just checked), this blog is 8 years old tomorrow, wow! These days my stats are much much lower than they used to be but then again so many of my blog hits were from people weirdly coming for pictures of Sportacus. I used to blog so frequently in the old days too but with the invention of Twitter, I found myself blogging less. It got to a point last year when I was hardly blogging at all but specially over the last few months I’ve found myself quite keen to get back into it and to be a bit more consistent too, although I know I have a weird mix of food, books, craft (nowhere near enough of that) and photography.

Okay time to nominate some blogs – this is quite hard, the way how I access blogs has changed since the old days, back in the old days I had a blog list on my blog which I used to regularly click through plus the WordPress blog reader, which I used to regularly visit and update. I still use the WordPress blog reader but don’t often visit it and I certainly don’t update it and the blog list on my blog side bar disappeared a long time ago. These days I pretty much exclusively visit blogs through links on Twitter and sometimes (pretty rare though), Pinterest. So I’m more likely to follow a blogger on Twitter and just click on their links through there.

I’m not going to nominate 15 because umm I can’t think of 15 but here’s my list of nominees-

A cookbook a month – three friends pick a cook book and cook from it for a month and then blog their conversations around the food, good photography too.

Kate Davies designs – for a jaw droppingly envious life in the Highlands plus lovely knitwear.

Meet me at Mikes – I know, everybody knows that one!

And finally seven things about me that you may not already know –

  1. I have a phobia of escalators – the level of the phobia varies over time, currently I’m just about okay on up escalators and I will do my absolute best to avoid down escalators but I will go on them if I absolutely have to on the underground, I will point blank refuse to go on down escalators anywhere else. If my phobia is in a ‘good place’ I can go on up escalators anywhere without really thinking about it and can go on down escalators on the underground okay too, I just avoid down escalators everywhere else. If my phobia is in a ‘bad place’ I will avoid all escalators. So at the moment my phobia is sort of middling for me, which is an improvement on what it was at the beginning of the year but before kids, when I was working full time in central London, I had to use tube escalators everyday and it was at that point where it was only down escalators in places like shopping malls and cinemas, that I didn’t like.
  2. I moved around quite a bit when I was a kid, so I don’t really feel like I’m ‘from’ anywhere but if pushed I say I’m from Norfolk, which is where I spent my very dull teenage years. I spent my entire teenage years dreaming about escaping to London and hey, here I am!
  3. Because of the varied places I lived as a kid, some people find my accent hard to place and I’ve had more than one person presume I’m American. Although I’ve been to the US once on holiday, I’ve never lived there. I guess it’s the weird combination of a Welsh and Norfolk accent!
  4. I had speech therapy as a small child because when I started school the teacher couldn’t understand me, this lead to me speaking ‘properly’ (also probably contributing to my weird Welsh – Norfolk accent). I moved to Norfolk when I was 12, starting two terms late in my secondary school (I had previously been living in Milton Keynes, where they had a different school system with lower, middle and upper schools, so I had been still in middle school). On my first day at my new school, in a class full of kids who’d already got to know each other for two terms at least, we had an English lesson with a teacher all the kids unflatteringly called “Sweaty Betty”, she was a right old bag but not particularly sweaty. Anyway the class was doing poetry and the teacher was making the kids stand up to read the poems and she was crucifying each and everyone of them for bad pronunciation. Then she asks the new kid (me) to stand up to read a poem. I read the poem, not putting any particular effort into it and suddenly Sweaty Betty was full of praise “Now that’s how you do it class! That’s how you read a poem! She can pronounce the words properly!”. You can imagine the daggers from every single kid in the class, I wanted to die on the spot.
  5. One of the most embarrassing things that happened to me as a teenager though was about four years later when my old skodafamily got, as a second car, one of these, a skoda. Skodas back then, as well as being as ugly as hell and basically being a bucket on wheels, had a really bad reputation and if on the rare occasion one of my parents tried to give me a lift to school in it, I was like a cat when you try to give it a bath.
  6. I used to play the oboe as a child and although maybe the oboe wasn’t quite the perfect instrument for me, I have always really, really regretted giving up music.
  7. I also regret giving up my allotment, although they’re as likely to have me back as for David Cameron to develop compassion. I was a bad allotment holder.
3 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Hey Jo, You were quick off the mark! This made for a really funny blogpost. I can totally relate to some of your school days stories, and the bit about skoda’s (my dad had one too, in mustard yellow, i didn’t mind but my cooler teenage siblings would turn down a lift home in it!) It’s nice to read about your blogging history too. Congrats on almost 8 years! x

    1. Thank you! As it’s my blog’s birthday I gave it a birthday present of a new theme! (once I made my mind up that is!)

Leave a Reply

