50 Books, yay!

50 challenge

I’m not quite sure what has happened this year, in an average year I read thirty odd books, maybe into the low forties if I’ve been quite good at reading that year. I’ve always wanted to get to the mythical 50 books in a year mark but I’ve never really got close, so to succeed in my 2015 reading challenge of fifty books before even the end of July is well, a bit gob smacking.

I think my attitude towards reading has changed quite a lot this year, which has probably had quite a lot to do with it. I used to have a bit of a ‘bad habit’ of trying to read ‘worthy’ books, I was choosing a lot of books because I thought I should read them not because I actually thought it would be fun. This year, with the exception of The Luminaries, which I actually started reading in 2014 and really struggled with, I have been very much reading for fun. Particularly fun this year (so far), has been working my way through all of Stuart MacBride’s back catalogue, I was reading one of those every few days earlier this year and his back catalogue is quite big. I also went back to reading other author’s crime novels, reigniting an interest in crime novels I first had in my twenties and although I have found some series I want to read more of and some series I think I’ll give a miss, I’ve moved on from ‘traditional’ crime novels for a bit, I’m going to save them for when I can devote time to completing a book every few days again!

I think the most important thing with me and reading these days though is that reading is most definitely an escape, I’ve found I particularly like books with big casts of characters, as I like the camaraderie between them and I like books which take me to another time or to a place I’ve never been.

I feel like I want to set myself another goal now, for the rest of 2015. I’m going to see if I can read, I think, one hundred books in total this year. I don’t think it’s going to happen because after all, if I were to, I’m already behind schedule, but then again I have a lot of surgery to recover from in the latter half of this year and there’s whole series of books I’ve been saving for my recovery time, so you never know (I think it’s more likely going to be 90 odd, if I’m lucky).

2015

Leave a Reply

