The Miniaturist

The MiniaturistThe Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Reading comes in seasons for me, I have seasons where I want to read fast paced thrillers but then I tire of them and I move onto gentler more subtle fare. I started reading The Miniaturist last December but I didn’t get on with it, I was obviously in a season of faster paced stuff, so I gave up on it after barely a chapter. I didn’t want to read a book that devoted pages on just a girl arriving on a doorstep, *yawn*. But obviously I was fickle back then because after getting tired of all the relentless location hopping and ‘can you guess the yet another twist’ness of the last of a long line of thrillers that I’ve been reading recently, I wanted to go back to the sort of book where someone does lovingly devote an entire chapter to someone arriving in a hall. So The Miniaturist called me back.

I re-read the first chapter and this time was instantly hooked by its charm. The book turned out to be not quite what I expected and again it’s one of those stories where one if its joys is unwrapping the story for yourself, so I won’t spoil it for you, just read it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

