On the menu: Goodness bowl

Wednesday 

  
Another Anna Jones, A Modern Way to Cook ‘recipe’ (ie table of suggestions). This one is a bit like her jarred salads, you have a grain or a pulse, add two to four vegetables, a flavour booster, herbs, a dressing and some texture. I chose bulgar wheat,  carrot and courgette sautéed with garlic and parsley, pickled red cabbage (hey I have a big jar to get through and I’m the only person who eats it), pesto dressing and Food Doctor seeds. It was okay, I think the bulgar wheat was a bit bland, I normally cook it in chicken stock but I thought I’d skip the salty processed stuff (I’ve tried making chicken stock from scratch before, it always tastes so bland when I do it) and cook the bulgar wheat without, in just water, thinking that the flavours from everything else would flavour it instead. It did sort of but it was still pretty meh.

Leave a Reply

