And Then There Were None

And Then There Were NoneAnd Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read a lot of Agatha Christie when I was a kid (about my daughter’s age now, as back then they didn’t have that much of a variety of kids books as they do now). I mainly read Poirot, as I much preferred him over stuffy Miss Marple. So when I read a news article the other day about And Then There Was None, being voted as the favourite Christie, a book I hadn’t read, let alone heard of, I had to see why that one was so good it could beat my absolute favourite, Death on the Nile or even Murder on the Orient Express.

And Then There Was None is very much a stand alone book, there’s no Poirot or Miss Marple and I read in that news article that Christie was reported to have said that she had to use a different technique whilst writing this. It tells the story of a group of strangers called together on an island for what to them seems to be a house party but soon turns out to be anything but. Each person has a guilty past and someone seems to know all about it and that someone seems determined to extract justice, of the terminal kind. I found the story to be very creepy, specially as more and more of the guests got bumped off and the remaining people know they can’t get off the island and they’re trapped there with a murderer and they know that the murderer has to be one of them. It felt like it could be a modern horror film in a way (with less emphasis on the gore). I did sort of guess how the murderer did it but I didn’t manage to guess who the murderer was.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

