The Mermaids Singing

The Mermaids Singing (Tony Hill & Carol Jordan, #1)The Mermaids Singing by Val McDermid
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m in two minds about The Mermaids Singing, it was a very good book, telling the story of a criminal psychologist and a DI, on the tail of a serial killer who is murdering apparently straight men in a gruesome fashion and then dumping them in gay hotspots. It certainly kept me gripped but I found the heavy emphasis on what was going on in the killer’s head, in the form of the killer’s memoirs, uncomfortable. Yet at the same time the memoir bits were the most teasing, as McDermid dropped in subtle clues about the killer’s identity. As I’ve said before, I used to read a lot of crime fiction when I was younger but what ultimately put me off was books such as this which spent a lot of time going deeply into the killer’s psyche. I think personally I much prefer crime fiction where there is less emphasis on what’s going on in the killer’s head and more emphasis on what’s going on in the police officers lives, The Mermaids Singing was about 50:50. Having said that, the killer certainly was one of the most unique I’ve read. Just bear in mind if you read this that there are some scenes that are definitely not for the faint hearted. I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with this series, part of me wants too, as I did sort of enjoy this book but another part of me thinks, do I really want to read something that makes me squirm so much?

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

