Appointment with Death

Appointment with Death (Hercule Poirot, #19)Appointment with Death by Agatha Christie
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After reading A is for Arsenic, which mentions Appointment With Death as one of the examples, I thought I’d give it a go as I like Christie’s books which are set overseas and this one is set in Jerusalem and Petra. I didn’t think I’d read it before but by the end I realised I had, although I would have been about 11, so it was quite a while ago.

The book starts really well, an American family is on holiday, led by the most appalling, tyrannical matriarch who doesn’t let her adult step children do anything remotely independent. Into the mix and the various locations, arrives a young, newly qualified English female doctor, an eminent French doctor, a bossy female MP and a bit of a wet blanket old woman on holiday with some inheritance. Ending up in Petra the matriarch dies and Poirot, who just happens to be on holiday nearby, investigates.

The bits prior to the murder were fun, I may not be able to get to Petra myself or find a time machine but reading about a holiday party there was really interesting, even if they were all racist and sexist as hell. But the bits after it got a bit boring, as Poirot is called in and interviews everyone.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

