I’ll tickle your catastrophe

thumb_IMG_5058_1024

I’ve done a startlingly low amount of embroidery this year, if you count embroidery as just back stitch, satin stitch, split stitch, stem stitch etc. 2015 has definitely been the year of the cross stitch for me and even with that I don’t have that much to show for it, as two of the (very large) pieces were commissions, which took up pretty much all my crafting time (plus more) for months (not that I’m complaining, I love that I’m moving into doing needlework professionally).

Anyway, I’m still on sick leave at the moment, so I thought I’d do a small piece of embroidery for fun and Nicole from Follow the White Bunny had just released a gorgeous new pattern called Fowl Talk. Wanting to make this as easy as possible for me I used Sulky Solvy to transfer the pattern and I had fun randomly picking colours from a big tin of embroidery floss that I had bought last Christmas (normally when I do embroidery / cross stitch / needlework, I plan the colours I’m going to use in advance and will buy them specifically from reputable sellers). My big tin of embroidery floss contains a big batch of embroidery floss that I bought on a whim from Amazon which I thought was DMC but I don’t think it is, at best it’s DMC manufactured for the Chinese market (as I’ve checked the colour codes, they do match) and at worse the floss is a forgery, either way the quality is not the same as normal DMC and, as it turns out, it’s not water fast. The embroidery was looking great until I washed off the Sulky Solvy and I saw the colours leaching before my eyes. I did attempt to wash again with a colour catcher but it didn’t really help. It’s unfortunate in a way that the colours didn’t leach even more than they did because the staining is so almost all over, it’s only obvious there’s staining from the small area on the top left where the leaching didn’t reach. Although the staining in general just makes the whole piece look a bit dull. So this is definitely a case of it being a bit of a catastrophe (a Shakespearean insult by the way) but I’m not sure there’s much tickling involved.

Leave a Reply

