The Honourable Schoolboy

The Honourable Schoolboy (The Karla Trilogy, #2)The Honourable Schoolboy by John le Carré

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is the sequel to the far more famous Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. In this one, ‘The Circus’ is in disarray, recovering from the aftermath of the reveal of the mole. Spy stations are being closed left, right and centre around the world. Meanwhile in Hong Kong, something suspicious is happening.

I read and enjoyed Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy when I was a teenager (I also liked the original TV series, the movie remake was terrible though) but I didn’t get on with The Honourable Schoolboy. The language is so anarchic, the honourable schoolboy of the title litters virtually every other sentence with the word ‘sport’ (a term of ‘affection’ I guess) and he’s always tugging his blinking forelock. However, there were some good scenes, particularly when one of the characters were trying to interview another character, to get information out of them. I particularly liked the scene between George and the deluded and obnoxious father of a girl they were interested in.

I listened to this as an audiobook and I will admit that it didn’t always really hold my attention, so at times it was like having an old movie on in the background but I think if I had read this as a book, I probably still wouldn’t be passed the halfway mark because I just wouldn’t want to keep going back to it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

