Coffin Road

Coffin RoadCoffin Road by Peter May

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After getting burnt by May’s The Firemaker, which was pretty bad, I’d sworn off his books for a while but with his latest he’s back on Harris and well I loved his Lewis trilogy. So I thought I’d give it a go, particularly as Firemaker was one of his earlier books and his writing style has improved.

In this one a man is washed up on a beach with no memory of who he is. Luckily the beach is very close to his house and a neighbour recognises him and guides him home but as the man tries to piece together his life, it becomes clear that whatever he’d been doing prior to being washed up on the beach, was something very strange indeed.

I particularly liked that a character from the Lewis trilogy also appears in this one, the detective sergeant George Gunn and there’s even a brief name check for Finn and Marshalsea (my spellings may be out, I’ve ‘read’ all of May’s books as audiobooks, so I’m never quite sure how names are spelt).

Coffin Road was definitely better than The Firemaker (not hard) but I’d say not quite as good as the Lewis trilogy. I know a lot of the characters in Coffin Road were going through a very hard time but they were a bit whingy. It was almost with a sigh of relief every time the narrative switched back to Gunn.

I hope that May writes more books based in the area, as they so feed into my Scottish Island fantasies.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

