The Invisible Library

The Invisible Library (The Invisible Library #1)The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

It took me a long time to get into this book and to be honest I never really truly did, although the ending wasn’t that bad. It was a shame as the set up was really good, a massive library (so big it could take years to walk from place to place) set between alternate worlds. The library is managed (obviously) by Librarians and they are sent on missions to retrieve rare and important books for the library. The alternate worlds vary with things like how much technology they have and how much they’ve been exposed to chaos, which is sort of like magic. When there is a lot of chaos, the alternate will have things like vampires and werewolves. Irene, a junior librarian is sent on a mission to retrieve a book in an alternate with lots of chaos, with a student, Kai. The mission goes wrong quickly, with murder and steam-punkish assassins and a villain of urban legend status.

All this sounds absolutely brilliant but I just didn’t get on with the writing style I think and amazingly, considering the plot, the story just didn’t grab me. I think it might have made a better graphic novel or comic series. However, the ending did sort of make me want to know more, so I suspect that I will probably one day read the next book in the series but no rush.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

