Kew – May 2016

FullSizeRender 11

I’d been meaning to go to Kew Gardens for a few weeks now but a combination of miserable weather, lack of time and a shocking lack of patience, in that I knew I’d get there for 9.40am, if I went straight after dropping Boy Lacer off at school and it doesn’t open until 10am, I didn’t go. But the beginning of May brings about early opening for Kew membership holders, you can get in from 8am (ooh I wish I could be there that early!), so, as I have a membership, my lack of patience problem was solved and I could stroll in, at 9.40am, whilst everyone else queued, waiting for the ticket offices to open *smug grin*.

FullSizeRender 25

Actually, although my impatience may have been soothed, I always have this weird paranoia, when walking round a place like Kew (or Hampton Court Palace, or the zoo and so on and so on) early, when no one else is about or at least not many because even though I know I’m fully within my rights to be there, the small rodent part of my brain still feels like I’m sneaking in and will get found out at any minute.

FullSizeRender 10

Anyway, my paranoia coped and I went and had a look round the Lily House.

FullSizeRender 30

Then I went off to the Princess of Wales Conservatory.

FullSizeRender 15

Where I did some sketching.

FullSizeRender 34

Then it was off to the area around Queen Charlotte’s cottage, to see the bluebells. Now, despite coming to Kew, at least 3 – 4 times a year, often more, for the last 12 years, I still managed to get a bit lost and I ended up somewhere I had amazingly never seen at Kew before, the Bamboo Garden.

FullSizeRender 31

Where they had this old Japanese farmer’s house, that had been reconstructed there.

FullSizeRender 12

I made it to Queen Charlotte’s Cottage eventually, the bluebells were beginning to fade ever so little but were still nice.

FullSizeRender 16

There was also a field with these other purple flowers.

FullSizeRender 26

It was a lovely visit.

As usual for me, these photos were all taken with my iPhone using the Hipstamatic app.

Leave a Reply

