5 things I liked this week – 6.5.16

1.Work has been hectic recently, so a much quieter shift for a normally very busy client, this week was very much appreciated!
2.The embroidery patterns by Abigail Cecile are absolutely gorgeous, I love her use of applique with the embroidery.

abigail cecile
Image credit: Abigail Cecile Design

3. Really getting into a good book, I really liked Jonathan Dark or the Evidence of Ghosts, I’m going to be waiting eagerly for AK Benedict’s next book!

4. A day off from work! I have a zero hours contract job and in a week with just my set shifts, I have two days off a week but as it’s been really busy recently (see 1.) so I’ve been taking on lots of extra shifts, including on my days off. So I haven’t had a day off in over 2 2 weeks (I’ve lost count). I should point out it’s not all get the violins out, my working days can vary between 1 to 10 hours, usually about 3 hours on an average day, so I haven’t been working dusk till dawn on all those days I’ve been working without a break but ooh, just to have a day when I wake up and know that I’m not working! No having to remember that I’ve got a shift later and having to schedule my day around it! ‘Ironically’ and this has helped me get through this sudden massive increase in hours (and of course the increased pay has helped too!), is that I know from next week my hours will drop dramatically again and with a week with no overtime, instead of two days off, I’m going to have three days off and two of those days are going to actually be next to each other (to all those people with traditional working weeks, you know that Sunday feeling? Well, if you only have one day off before going back to work again, you get that Sunday feeling straight away). Of course with all that extra free time, my pay will drop to match it but that’s how it goes. I know that there’s some awful zero hour contract employers out there and I’m lucky in that I don’t work for one of them! I do get a warning if my hours are going to drop and there’s normally opportunities to increase my hours again if I want to and I like the flexibility. In April I was in a position where I could work lots of hours, this month I’m in a position where it suits me more to work less. Although having said that, I don’t envy people on zero hours contracts if they’re the main breadwinner.

5. Penny Dreadful is back!!!!! And the first episode was amazing, I have a feeling this is going to be a particularly good season. Although (SPOILERS) I think a lot of people would like to be seemingly cured of deep depression as quickly as Vanessa did, after a single trip to the docs and a trip round the Natural History Museum.

 

cast-of-penny-dreadful
Image credit

 

Leave a Reply

