5 things I liked this week -20.5.16

1. The lovely nurses at an outpatient’s procedure, it was the sort of procedure which is way up there on the list of things you don’t want doctors doing to you but the nurses were so nice and friendly and welcoming and reassuring, that they put me instantly at ease. Also of note, as usual most of the nurses were (from their accents) not originally from the UK and I would like to wheel any of the anti-immigrant bigots into that theatre and see if they still have the same views. I’m sure that there isn’t some NHS hiring policy that only hires people from overseas and that there isn’t legions of unemployed British health care workers because all the health care jobs have been taken by immigrants, as this article shows, there’s currently a chronic shortfall in nurses. I just wish that all the bigots out there would actually take a moment to sit down and actually think what the world would be like, on a practical level if they can’t handle the morality, if they got their way.

2.This article by Ruby Tandoh on the whole clean eating thing, she says a lot of good things like.

Remember above all that you will be nourished not only by the food you eat, but by the pleasure you take in it.

3. I’m pretty sure I’ve said here before, that I try not to show pictures etc of my kids here because I want them to be old enough to decide for themselves whether they want to be on social media and I’m pretty sure I’ve also said, that when my kids got to an age when they were using social media, I may, if it’s relevant, start putting pictures etc up here. Anyway, Girl Lacer has a friend who likes making films, she’s been in one before, a few years back and this week she was in another, both films were about zombies, so you can really see how her friend is growing up into being a filmmaker with a lot of potential. People go on about kids today being just glued to their screens and yes that does happen, the internet has also really given the same kids a chance to explore their creativity. If anyone likes zombie films made by talented 12 year olds, the video is here.

4. I love following what Space X is doing, so I love this clip of their recently landed rocket.

5. I love this article from The Guardian We’re living in an age full of possibilities. So why do so many of us feel like losers?. I’m sure I’m not the only one who finds switching on the news these days a bit butt-clenching, things are happening that feel like history book happening, we have so much potential opportunity these days, yet it seems the more opportunity there is, the more nut jobs seem to spring up to try and deny it or even worse deny it and hoard it all to themselves. I’m sure that we, as a species, could get through the problems we’re facing right now but we seem to be perversely attracted to the very leaders who are more likely to increase the problems rather than solve them. We can’t separate ourselves, as either individuals or countries and hope that it’s all going to go away.

 

Leave a Reply

