A day in my life

A year ago yesterday, I did the A Beautiful Mess exercise to take a photo every hour to document my day. That particular day last year was a little more interesting than my day this year but I thought it’d be a nice idea to do the same thing this year (and the year after and so on and so on), just to document the changing years. Last year both kids were on half term break and we had a day trip to Hampton Court Palace, this year Boy Lacer had a teacher training day but Girl Lacer was still at school. Also, whereas last year I didn’t have any shifts that day, this year I had five hours worth and I can’t really show you what I work on. Anyway, here’s my day, it was considerably longer than last year’s.

IMG_6290

Ugh my feet look horrible, not as horrible as my TMJ though, which keeps waking me up

IMG_6291

I did manage to get back to sleep thankfully, here I am sorting my clothes for the day, going for a goth German kids storybook look (minus my great big white hammocks of a bra)

IMG_6292

Filling in some school paperwork, I love how you can do a lot of it online now.

IMG_6293

Okay, I may ‘love’ filling in paperwork online but it’s a bit embarrassing when the teacher (an IT teacher to boot) emails you back to say the form didn’t fill in, so trying again (I did, after four attempts, get there eventually)

IMG_6294

Heading to the shops

IMG_6295

Heading back from the shops

IMG_6296

Reading a link from Twitter and eating some Graze beef jerky

IMG_6297

My bed is my office and my studio, just tidying it up a bit

IMG_6298

Doing some EPP, working on the Diamond Hex quilt

IMG_6299

I’d written, last month I think, that I tend to prepare one set of shapes and then sew them on before cutting out more fabric, I’ve just started to prepare all the shapes for a diamond now before sewing it together, it somehow feels quicker that way.

IMG_6300

Doing some housework (loading the dishwasher) but not feeling brilliant, so having a quick sit down.

IMG_6302

My actual 5.07pm photo is a photo of Boy Lacer but here’s one of him shortly afterwards in disguise.

IMG_6303

The kids’ tea, I know, not particularly healthy.

IMG_6304

Starting work for the day (god I need to use some hand moisturiser or something).

IMG_6305

Coffee to keep me going.

IMG_6306

One of the benefits of working from home and having a job where if no work is coming in at that very moment, I have nothing to do, means that I can sometimes pick up some embroidery and do a few stitches, whilst waiting for more work to arrive. (Embroidery pattern by Sublime Stitching)

IMG_6307

Another drink

IMG_6308

Another quiet patch means more embroidery.

IMG_6309

Bed time! Whilst brushing the crumbs out of the bed, I snagged my hand on a needle, oops, even worse, when I got into bed, I found another one!

Leave a Reply

